Grief is such a strange thing.

Standard

You can be going along, perfectly fine, and then WHAM, it sneaks up behind you and clubs you over the head, and the wound is fresh again. Tonight I found myself blindsided with grief for a dear old friend. We were supposed to raise our babies together and grow to be snarky old ladies. We were going to be the Golden Girls. I miss her so, but I thought I had entered Acceptance. Then tonight out of nowhere, I felt that same gut punch as if the loss had just happened. And in my hurt, God sent a friend with unexpected words to comfort me. This friend was a beacon of hope in my hour of need, a reminder that life goes on and old hurts do heal.

2 responses »

  1. Grief definitely is a strange thing. It can be very unpredictable. I am so sorry for your loss. Glad you had someone to offer you comfort. When the hurt comes out of nowhere, God usually isn’t too far behind.

Leave a Reply

